Asian nanny Emma Madriaga's profile

         Madriaga Emma Ms Emma Madriaga is 34 yrs. of age. She is 6th of 8 in the family. She is single and mother of a child of 3, a girl. She has completed a 2-year course for junior secretaries. She speaks and understands English well. She is from the province of Bataan, about 3 hours by road to Manila, 50 minutes by ferry boat.

Ms Madriaga has been working for the same employer since she first came to Singapore in December 1989.

Ms Madriaga has shown herself to be dependent and loyal to her employer. She began working for her employer in December 1989 and has been with her ever since, or for the past 11½ years, except for a 9-month break. The employer who is not keen to have to look for a live-in nanny every year or two will find this trait in Ms Madriaga desirable.

Among her duties, taking care of her employer's only child (shown on the left, at 8 months), a boy, is the most important. Emma's charge Mark is now 11 years. See photo of Emma and Mark taken on last October (2000). He was born two months after Emma started working for the family. As the mother was working then, care of the newborn baby was left to Emma, not to mention other duties: cooking, general cleaning and tidying and laundry and ironing. In fact Emma had been in sole charge until last year when her employer quit her job.

Emma is familiar all aspects of child care. When the child (a boy) was still a baby, she slept with him and did night feeding so that her employer would be able to go to work fresh in the morning. She knows how to change diapers, sterilize bottles, prepare formula and, as the baby grows, solid food as well. She knows how to set the stage for a little child to learn. She would give him paper for colouring activities and she would tell stories of read to the child. When the child started school, Emma supervise him in his homework. When the child is sick and the mother was not a home, which was often the case until last year when her empoyer stopped working, Emma would bring him to see a doctor.

Emma can cook quite well and often she would prepare the food when her employer invites friends home for dinner. She says "Everybody says that my cooking is good. And some of my employer's friends even ask me how I cook this dish or that."

Personal Particulars
Name Emma Madriaga Reference Mad/-868
Marital Status Single Ages of Children 3
Date of Birth 09/12/1966 Religion R. C.
Place of Birth Bataan Nationality Phil
Height 5 1 in Weight in lbs 118
Higest Education 2-yr Jr Secretarial Spoken English Good
Ages of Brothers 28 30 38 44 Ages of Sisters 36 40 42

Employment History
  Current Employer
Employer Kuah Hwee Choo
Location Singapore
Position Nanny/Housekeeper
Ages * 11
Period Dec 89 to date
* ages of children or elderly person cared for at the end of the employment or at the time nanny's profile was created.

Personal Preferences
Do you smoke? No Drink alcoholic beverages? No
Do you like animals? Yes Are you willing to learn driving? Yes
Can you swim? Very well When can you travel? Nov 01
Hobbies and Interest Badminton Basketball Reading Swimming
Would you like to work in the city or country? Anywhere including small or remote towns

Domestic Skills
E for experienced, W for willing to learn or U for unable to perform
Care of babies up to one year old 3 Care of children one to five years E
Care of children 5 to twelve years E Care of teenagers W
Care of an elderly person U Care of an invalid person U
Laundry E Cleaning and tidying E
Basic cooking E Cooking for dinner parties E
Baking E Special diet preparation E
Mend, darn or sew E Gardening E
Grocery shopping E

Domestic Appliances
E for experienced in use of W for willing to learn to use/operate
Vacuum cleaner E Gas/electric range E
Microwave oven E Refrigerator E
Washing machine E Electric clothes dryer W
Dishwasher W Blender/mixer E

Declaration by Nanny/Housekeeper
I hereby declare that the information I have givenabove is accurate and that the documents submittedare authentic in every respect.

Signed by Emma Madriaga
Original application on file in S'pore.
Gallery Home

Update: 26 August, 2001