Asian nanny Lilia Coloma is more than a nanny

[Job History & Preferences] [Domestic Skills]  [Group]  [Testimonial] [Dear Employer]

Summary and Interviewer's Comments

            Coloma Lilia Lilia Coloma is from Ilocos Norte, in northern Luzon, 9 hours from Manila. She is 4th of 5 children in the family. Her parents are farmers. She is a college graduate with a diploma in Radiologic Technology, a 3-year post secondary course. She speaks English very well.

Lilia graduated in 1990, but could not find a job for which she was trained. As jobs are scarce where she comes from, she finally decided to come to work in Singapore as a nanny.

She has been with her only employer since September 1994. Her duties are care of two children, cooking, cleaning, laundry and ironing. The children are now 11 and 8. When Lilia first began working for the family they were 3 and 6 years old. Then, besides the normal household duties, Lilia also read to the children, told them stories and played with them. She also escorted the younger one to nursery school a short distance away. She had to make sure they were fed before they went out. Now the children are older and able to read on their own. But Lilia still has to make sure they are ready for school.

Both parents go to work and they leave all the household chores to Lilia. Lilia can cook fairly well. Occasionally she eats out with the family and Lilia would try to cook the same thing at home. She enjoys cooking.

Lilia is good-natured and happy. She has stayed with the family for 5 years and enjoys a good rapport with the family. She says she has no problems and the children are naturally cooperative when she tells them what to do and what not to do.

Lilia is at present taking a course for caregivers of old folks. She has completed 12 lectures spread over 6 months and is now assigned to an old folks home and works there 5 hours on alternate Sundays.

Her employer has agreed to release her earlier if she is offered a similar position in Canada.

Personal Particulars
Name Lilia Coloma
Reference 1497/451
Marital Status Married
Ages of Children Nil
Date of Birth 04/01/71
Religion R.C.
Place of Birth Ilocos Norte
Nationality Nationality
Height 5 0in
Weight in lbs 100
Higest Education Assoc. in Rad Tech
Spoken English Fairly good
Ages of Brothers 32
Ages of Sisters 35 34 22

Employment History
  Current Employer
Employer Ng Kar Giem
Location Singapore
Position Nanny/Hskpr
Ages * 8 11
Period Sep 94 to date
* ages of children or elderly persons cared for

Personal Preferences
Do you smoke? No
Drink alcoholic beverages? No
Do you like animals? Yes
Are you willing to learn driving? Yes
Can you swim? Beginner
When can you travel? Anytime
Hobbies and Interest Dancing Swimming Cooking Volleyball
Would you like to work in the city or country? Anywhere including small or remote towns

Domestic Skills
Check the relevant box with E (experienced) W (willing to learn) or U (unable to perform)
Care of babies up to one year old N
Care of children one to five years Y
Care of teenagers N
Care of children 5 to twelve years Y
Care of an elderly person W
Care of an invalid person U
Laundry E
Cleaning and tidying E
Basic cooking E
Cooking for dinner parties W
Baking W
Special diet preparation W
Mend, darn or sew E
Gardening E
Grocery shopping E
Household Appliances
Vacuum cleaner E Gas/electric range E
Microwave oven W Refrigerator E
Washing machine E Electric clothes dryer W
Dishwasher W Blender/mixer E

Declaration by Caregiver
I hereby declare that the information I have given above is accurate and that the documents submittedare authentic in every respect.

Signed by Lilia Coloma
Original application on file in S'pore
[Top] [Group] [Home]